Join the Crowd! A social bike ride with the Midnight Cyclers!

I had my first social bike ride this past Friday. Well, to be more specific, it was my first social bike ride in like…5 years.

The group was called KC Midnight Cycling, and it was a special first annual Glow bike ride. People were encouraged to deck out their bike with glow decorations and bright lights.

The group meets every Friday night at 11 PM and the size is relatively small, according to a regular who participates. But the  glow ride brought out at least 35 people, maybe 40?

Our first half of the ride was a little fast and lots of people got separated from one another. So we stopped at Penn Valley Park to regroup. It was my first time ever going to Penn Valley Park. I know right? And I call myself a Kansas Citian!

Midnight Cyclers regroup at Penn Valley Park as part of the first annual glow ride.

Midnight Cyclers regroup at Penn Valley Park as part of the first annual glow ride.

I met some new people, and befriended a fellow bike rider who had a distaste for authority and nicknamed the folks that tried to direct the ride “Scout leaders.”. It was not meant to be a compliment!

I’m proud for putting myself out there and attending a social ride where I didn’t know very many people! Now that I’ve tried it, i expect to engage more often. And one cool thing about these events is that when the ride starts, its easy to blend into the crowd… making it easier for introverts like me to feel connected without having to extend ourselves.

Thanks Midnight Cyclers. I hope to meet up again for future night time riding.

Selfie before i journeyed to sunfresh for the midnight cycle.

When I was on my way to meetup with other cyclist for the First annual glow ride.  thanks for organizing the event and making it happen!

Leave a Reply

